September 1, 2011

Thursday September 1 6:32 p.m.

 

Welcome to a new month everybody! I’ve been in Peru for over three months and today was the first day that it has rained. It was a couple series’ of light sprinkles. I definitely haven’t been poured on and it’s been sunny probably at least 80 percent of the time due to my location during training and now in Zaña and the seasons. We’ll be entering spring when y’all northern hemisphere people will be entering winter. The hot and rainy season here in Zaña is January – March (basically when you guys are freezing your patoots off up there in MN). But I will miss my dear bitter Minnesota winter too as I’m missing my Minnesota summer. At the same time I’m definitely not complaining here 😉

I just got back from a parade put on by the private school here in town for its anniversary. It was pretty cool. The typical dances performed by the students here along with the music and poetry that they do is very impressive. Plus it’s always cool to see donkeys pulling floats in parades.

Early today I passed around to different institutions with my community partner including the tourism office, police station, church and health post. I also met with the mayor again today. Luckily the local government is really cooperative and willing to work with me so that’s been good. We’ll see exactly if they can provide about 75 lunches and snacks for an event my youth group has coming up in a couple weeks. Hoping yes!! If not me and my host momma gonna be cookin’! It’s been a pretty busy day but I did squeeze a half hour siesta in so that’s always nice. Yesterday I went to the coronation event and crowned one of the queens as well as handed out prizes and whatnot. It was pretty awesome other than the fact that I was like 10 feet in front of one of the enormous speakers that was filling the whole coliseum with sound. It has been amazing to see the talents and energy of these kids. The event (per the norm) ended with an hora loca (If you’ve been reading the blog I’m sure you know what this is, otherwise reference previous post). The hora loca was accompanied by an awesome tower of intricately programmed fireworks, which is also very popular here in Peru. In fact, there are fireworks blowing almost all the time for some reason or other…or no reason at all. Often times they are blowing off at 6 or 7 in the morning to end the fiesta or at 7 or 8 in the morning to start the fiesta. This method is pretty cool…it’s like an alarm clock for the whole pueblo.

During the day yesterday I judged another series of presentations by classrooms at the school celebrating its anniversary. Afterwards we passed around through different places in town. The coolest place was the AfroPeruvian Museum. This place is packed with many original, one-of-a-kind artifacts, photos and instruments. There are many percussive instruments as well as marimbas but the main thing I found interesting is the checo. This is a hand drum with a square cut in it made from ripened pumpkin-type things. It originated in Zaña to accompany the baile tierra (earth dance) that is rooted in slavery times. Other popular dances here include festejo, another type of Negroid dance including rapid movements and super quick hand drumming on cajons and bongos. Additionally, Marinera is another popular dance in the northern regions of Peru including neatly dressed dancers (in white and red colors of Peru) doing many movements with their hats and handkerchiefs while “flirtily” dancing all the while with intricate movements.

On Tuesday evening I ended up going to an event at the Evangical church that was pretty interesting. It had that yelling-pastor kind of thing going on but it was positive and energetic so it wasn’t too bad. Plus there was cake!! J The band was pretty interesting. It was kind of polka style…or something or other. Beforehand I met with the committee of my youth group. It took us about two hours but we made some pretty good ground. We have a lot planned already but the most important event is to get this event planned that’s coming up in a couple weeks. A group of kids from the area that are positive with HIV are coming to visit Zaña and we have the honor of showing them a good time Zaña-style with also being informative. I’m excited about it but there are many loose ends we have to get tied up. That’s my cue…back to work! (or to eat) J I think that’s about all for now. Tonight I’m off to hang out/watch the music rehearsal the cultural group and tomorrow off to Chiclayo (capital city) for the night and Saturday to do some shopping.

Take care and saludos de Zaña!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment